Contra Dancing in Auckland, New Zealand

Check out our FaceBook Page

https://www.facebook.com/ContraDanceAklNZ/

News Flash!

The Auckland Contra Dance Club will be featured live, on air
Tune in Sunday, 4 Feb, 7-9pm on 95bFM for Border Radio
And don't miss our next event, Saturday 10 Feb
Dancing to a live band and a concert by a local artist
Featuring Bernie Griffin and friends in February
Contact us if you would like to perform at an upcoming event

Next Dance: Saturday, 10 February 2018

Featuring guest musician Bernie Griffin and friends

Regular Dances for 2018,
2nd Saturday of the month: Dance 7:00 to 10:00 pm
St Lukes Anglican Church Hall, corner of New North Rd and St Lukes Rd - 704 New North Rd.

7 min walk from Morningside train station.
Free parking, with limited parking at the church and plenty of free parking in the empty lot at 702 New North Road, next door.

Fantastic Live Folk Band!
No Experience Needed / No Partners Needed
Each dance is taught beforehand and called throughout
Contra dance is energetic, fun and easy to learn!

Only $10 Adults, $5 unwaged, $20 family, under 5s free!

(All proceeds go to cover hall hire and event costs)

We will be running a beginner's session from 7-7.30pm as usual, walking through some basic contra moves - so do come along if you have been meaning to give contra a go! Wear flat shoes.

Here is a poster for the next dance.

For more information email Lenny.

We are a community-run non profit folk dance group, that started in 2012. We enjoyed contra dancing so much in other countries, that we wanted to bring it to Auckland!

We welcome all ages and abilities - all you need is a sense of fun!

Come along on your own, or bring your friends for a great evening.

Experienced folk musicians always wanted to join our contra dance band to play for dances.

2018 Dance Programme

We are going to be running monthly dances in 2018 on the 2nd Saturday of the month. All regular dances are held at St Lukes Church Hall, 704 New North Road, Mt Albert. Click for Map

Sat February 10
Sat March 10
Sat April 14
Sat May 12
Sat June 9
Sat July 14
Sat August 11
Sat September 8
Sat October 13
Sat November 10

No dance in Dec or Jan.

2018 Music Programme


Music Workshops
Learn traditional American folk dance tunes and style and improv skills and techniques

Sat January 20, 7pm-9pm, 180 Manukau Rd
Sat February 3, 7pm-9pm, 180 Manukau Rd
Whatch this space for more to come

Contra dancing in other cities

Find out more about what contra dancing is and other places where it's done in NZ.