Contra Dancing in Auckland, New Zealand


* November Contra is Special *

The November Contra will be on Third Saturday, 17 November and it's going to be a Techno-Contra
Look up Techno-Contra on YouTube and see why it's such a big movement in the USA

* Want to star in a Music Video *

Contra Club has been asked to provide extras for a new music video on 10 November. Email for info
That means an extra opportunity to enjoy great music and dancing in November and a chance to star in a new music video

Check out our FaceBook Page

https://www.facebook.com/ContraDanceAklNZ/

Next Dance: Saturday, 17 November 2018

Featuring guest musician J Adam Colegrove for a Techno-Contra

Regular Dances for 2018,
2nd Saturday of the month: Dance 7:00 to 10:00 pm,
but 3rd Saturday in November
St Lukes Anglican Church Hall, corner of New North Rd and St Lukes Rd - 704 New North Rd.

7 min walk from Morningside train station.
Free parking, with limited parking at the church and plenty of free parking next door at 702 New North Road in the empty lot.

Fantastic Live Folk Band!
No Experience Needed / No Partners Needed
Each dance is taught beforehand and called throughout
Contra dance is energetic, fun and easy to learn!

Only $10 Adults, $5 unwaged, $20 family, under 5s free!

(All proceeds go to cover hall hire and event costs)

We will be running a beginner's session from 7-7.30pm as usual, walking through some basic contra moves - so do come along if you have been meaning to give contra a go! And if you're more experienced, please come along to help the newcomers.

Here is a poster for the next dance.

For more information email Lenny.

We are a community-run charity folk dance & music group, that started in 2012. We enjoyed contra dancing so much in other countries, that we wanted to bring it to Auckland!

We welcome all ages and abilities - all you need is a sense of fun!

Come along on your own, or bring your friends for a great evening.

Experienced folk musicians always wanted to join our contra dance band to play for dances.

2018 Dance Programme

We are going to be running monthly dances in 2018 on the 2nd Saturday of the month. All regular dances are held at St Lukes Church Hall, 704 New North Road, Mt Albert. Click for Map

Sat February 10
Sat March 10
Sat April 14
Sat May 12
Sat June 9
Sat July 14
Sat August 11
Sat September 8
Sat October 13

Sat November 10 (Music Video)
Sat November 17 (Third Saturday)

No dance in Dec or Jan.

2018 Music Programme


Music Workshops
Learn traditional American folk dance tunes and style and improv skills and techniques

Sat January 20, 7pm-9pm, 180 Manukau Rd
Saturday, February 3, 7pm-9pm, 180 Manukau Rd
Thursday, February 22, 7pm-9pm, 180 Manukau Rd
Thursday, 22 March, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 19 April, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 17 May, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 21 June, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 19 July, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 23 August, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 20 September, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington
Thursday, 18 October, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington

Thursday, 22 November, 16 Higgs Rd, Mount Wellington


Contra dancing in other cities

Find out more about what contra dancing is and other places where it's done in NZ.

For more great American Cultural activities

Find out more about the American Club of NZ and other American cultural actiivities.
Join us for our American Thanksgiving celebration, 24 November https://www.americanclub.org.nz/events