Contra Dancing in Auckland, New Zealand

August is Contra Dance Month; Extra Dances!


Join is for a special Contra Dance Fund-Raiser

For St Austell's Presbyterian Church

Saturday 6 August 2016 7:00-10:00pm
St Austell's Presbyterian Church Hall
$15 for adults and $10 for children
35 Margan Ave, New Lynn


Join us for our regular monthly Contra Dance

Saturday 13 August 2016 7:00-10:00pm
Contra Dance at St Lukes Anglican Church Hall
704 New North Rd, Mt Albert


Come along to the Folk Dance NZ / Ruritanian Society Winter Warmup 2016: Entry only $2.00

Saturday 20 August 2016 6:00-10:30pm
Danish House, 6 Rockridge Ave, Penrose
Contra Club will host a dance and we'd love to have all our regulars there

Regular Dances for 2016,
2nd Saturday of the month: Dance 7:00 to 10:00 pm
St Lukes Anglican Church Hall, corner of New North Rd and St Lukes Rd - 704 New North Rd.

7 min walk from Morningside train station.
Free parking, with limited parking at the church and plenty of free parking in the empty lot at 702 New North Road, next door.

Fantastic Live Folk Band!
No Experience Needed
No Partners Needed
Each dance is taught beforehand and called throughout
Contra dance is energetic, fun and easy to learn!

Only $10 Adults, $5 unwaged, $20 family, under 5s free!

(All proceeds go to cover hall hire and event costs)

We will be running a beginner's session from 7-7.30pm as usual, walking through some basic contra moves - so do come along if you have been meaning to give contra a go! Wear flat shoes.

Here is a poster for the next dance.

For more information email Lenny.

We are a community-run non profit folk dance group, that started in 2012. We enjoyed contra dancing so much in other countries, that we wanted to bring it to Auckland!

We welcome all ages and abilities - all you need is a sense of fun!

Come along on your own, or bring your friends for a great evening.

Experienced folk musicians always wanted to join our contra dance band to play for dances.

2016 Dance Programme

We are going to be running monthly dances in 2016 on the 2nd Saturday of the month. All regular dances are held at St Lukes Church Hall, 704 New North Road, Mt Albert. Click for Map

Sat 6 February (4:45 at Auckland Folk Festival Kumeu)
Sat 27 February (Takapuna Methodist)

Sat March 12
Sat April 9
Sat May 14
Sat June 18 (Third Saturday this month)
Sat July 9
Sat August 13
Sat September 10
Sat October 8
Sat November 12

No dance in Dec or Jan.

2016 Music Programme


Watch this space

Contra dancing in other cities

Find out more about what contra dancing is and other places where it's done in NZ.