Contra Dancing in Auckland, New Zealand

News Flash!

The Auckland Contra Dance Club Incorporated
is now officially registered as an Incorporated Society
New Zealand Incorporated Society Number 2657111
And we now have our own bank account

Next Dance: Saturday, 13 May 2017. Be there

New Program for 2017 Now Available

Regular Dances for 2017,
2nd Saturday of the month: Dance 7:00 to 10:00 pm
St Lukes Anglican Church Hall, corner of New North Rd and St Lukes Rd - 704 New North Rd.

7 min walk from Morningside train station.
Free parking, with limited parking at the church and plenty of free parking in the empty lot at 702 New North Road, next door.

Fantastic Live Folk Band!
No Experience Needed / No Partners Needed
Each dance is taught beforehand and called throughout
Contra dance is energetic, fun and easy to learn!

Only $10 Adults, $5 unwaged, $20 family, under 5s free!

(All proceeds go to cover hall hire and event costs)

We will be running a beginner's session from 7-7.30pm as usual, walking through some basic contra moves - so do come along if you have been meaning to give contra a go! Wear flat shoes.

Here is a poster for the next dance.

For more information email Lenny.

We are a community-run non profit folk dance group, that started in 2012. We enjoyed contra dancing so much in other countries, that we wanted to bring it to Auckland!

We welcome all ages and abilities - all you need is a sense of fun!

Come along on your own, or bring your friends for a great evening.

Experienced folk musicians always wanted to join our contra dance band to play for dances.

2017 Dance Programme

We are going to be running monthly dances in 2017 on the 2nd Saturday of the month. All regular dances are held at St Lukes Church Hall, 704 New North Road, Mt Albert. Click for Map

Sat February 11
Sat March 11
Sat April 8

Sat May 13
Sat June 10
Sat July 8
Sat August 12
Sat September 9
Sat October 14
Sat November 11

No dance in Dec or Jan.

2017 Music Programme


Music Workshops
Learn traditional American folk dance tunes and style

TBA

Contra dancing in other cities

Find out more about what contra dancing is and other places where it's done in NZ.